I write because…

I write because…

When I would tell people that I’m really interested in writing for publications, journals, newspapers etc., they’d often ask me, “But why write? Who reads these days anyway?” Well, if I had to write keeping the so-called ‘majority’ who wouldn’t read in mind, I’d probably be running cause-marathons and protesting over the depleting readership in our society today… what shit!

Writing doesn’t make me feel any different about myself than I actually do. But writing makes me feel different about many things I believe in. I write when I’m in two minds about something. It enables better judgment of ideas when I’m having trouble decide. It helps cry over those issues that make me frustrated. It gives me the power to believe that there’s no one interrupting my thoughts and what I probably cannot put across through verbal speech, I can, through my written expressions!

When I started blogging, I wrote my first post on Idling. I had to because I started despising the fact that me sitting all day at home, doing nothing, had become a reason for people to take some kind of responsibility of me. They kept trying to tell me that I should get out there and find something substantial to do! Well, I did find something substantial to do. I started blogging!

As a content writer, I come across so many different stories to write about, be it technical press releases or just something casual. I listen to people talk everyday and at the end, sit down to sketch out a written piece. I’ve come to understand one thing. When we convert something written into something verbal (like reading a text), we make continuous efforts to add that extra twist or emotion to make the text ‘sound better’. But when speech is put into text (writing), the beauty of those words – even in their nascent forms – can’t be ignored. I love how one’s thoughts can just pour over as words without worrying about judgements!

That’s why, I thank my stars, for blogging is perhaps the single best thing that’s happened to me in a long time!

And now to complete today’s Writing 101 task – I write because… writing lets me speak the way I want to, it lets me get to the bottom of my heart and bring out myriad shades of thoughts. Writing is food for life and life is beautiful when I write!

Cheers! 🙂

9 thoughts on “I write because…

    1. Hi Lizzie. Yes, I agree it can be hard sometimes. But I believe that writing has made me fearless to an extent and now no matter what I write, I make sure it’s what I want to convey. It’s a little restricting in the beginning but as I go on with my writing, I feel there’s this change in the way I look at what I can write about… Fortunately, I believe that as long as I’m clear in my thoughts it’s not that hard to write about anything that comes to mind! 🙂
      Good luck with Writing101 to you too! See you around! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love it! This reminded me of a quote I like from Joan Didion: “I write entirely to find out what I’m thinking, what I’m looking at, what I see and what it means. What I want and what I fear.” There are many times I sit down to write about a subject and have no idea what I am going to say until I write it and learn how I feel.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve always thought that there’s a difference between living and surviving. It’s a thin line between the two actually! But Writing makes me live! Otherwise I just survive! 🙂
      Thank you so much for stopping by! Hope you enjoy the ones upcoming! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

